No Regrets

Continuing from my previous post…

I loved my first job, no doubt. But slowly over the years, I started to feel pigeon-holed. I was always on-deck for problems that happened in the system due to what I’ll call “bad data”. If you’ve been in the industry, you know what that means – something in your datastore doesn’t “follow the rules”, or “breaks something that normally doesn’t break”, or “is just a little off-kilter”. (Otherwise known as “edge cases”, which I’ll talk about in a later post!) And often, it’s because the application allowed that data, which breaks the rules, into the system – Devs hate to hear this. But just as often, it’s because the data-guy, the DB-dev or analyst, ingested or transformed the data in a way that breaks the rules – so there’s plenty of blame to go around. And we knew that, and we respected that. We didn’t pass the blame, we just buckled down and tried to get it fixed.

But, too often, I was the one called upon to fix it, because I was the closest to the data – and yes, I knew it intimately, no doubt. Because of that, I started to feel left behind the curve. The other devs were pushing new tech stacks, learning new things, while I kept pluggin’ away at good ol’ TSQL (with the occasional smattering of C#). And yes, of course that’s partially my fault; I could have self-asserted, pushed for more learning opportunities, etc. I don’t regret my first job. I learned a ton – basically everything I know about databases, technology, and IT. But it was time for a change.

And that’s how I ended up where I am now!

Written with StackEdit.

Author: natethedba

I'm a SQL Server DBA, family man, and all-around computer geek.

Leave a Reply

